Bible Study, donuts and a surprise wedding

So Friday I got my driver’s license ( yeah I know I’m a bit late but deal with it ), and I could go anywhere I wanted. I immediately made plans for the next morning. I texted my friend Jessica and we agreed that we were going to go to 9am mass and afterwards the plan was to hang out and talk and do a mini bible study session. I was so excited to just get up in the morning and go.

So I get up and get in the shower, singing my praise and worship while in the shower. I leave with my dad as he’s going to work. I leave and go to Kroger to surprise Jessica with donuts and tea and chocolate, because let’s be honest ladies, who doesn’t love to talk about their feelings while eating sugar?? I got gas and I headed to the church. I got there and met Jessica inside and we were a bit early so we kinda just stood around and asked how we were since we hadn’t seen each other in a while.

So after talking for a bit, we go into the sanctuary and we pray and then Mass starts. And though I was tired I really enjoyed that I got up by myself and I’m here by myself. After mass we said hi to a few people and then we went to my car to get our bags full of bibles, pens, pencils, highlighters and notebooks, and then our breakfast. We got back into the church, sat in Saint Augustine Hall and opened our Bibles. The night before we had decided that we were gonna look at Mark 2:13-17 ( the Gospel for that morning )

“Once again he went out along the sea. All the crowd came to him and he taught them. As he passed by, he saw Levi, son of Alpheus, sitting at the customs post. He said to him, “Follow me.” And he got up and followed him. While he was at table in his house, many tax collectors and sinners sat with Jesus and his disciples, “Why does he eat with tax collectors and sinners?” Jesus heard this and said to them, “Those who are well do not need a physician, but the sick do. I did not come to call the righteous but sinners.” Mark 2:13-17

After reading this passage we stopped and took time to write down things that came to mind while reading Scripture. After we wrote down what we wanted we shared with each what we wrote. This is what I wrote, “When Jesus said, “I did not come to call the righteous but sinners.” I think of the fact that we all make mistakes. None of us our perfect. So we shouldn’t judge anyone because they are just like us; sinners. We all make mistakes and that’s okay because we have a forgiving God. So forgiving that anything we do, He forgives. Always. Forgiving as long as we go to confession.” As we were looking for passages to do the bible study with, I was reading the Readings for the next day and my heart went towards Mark 2:13-17. Maybe it’s because I’ve been struggled with the guilt and seeing that I can’t be perfect.

The other passage was James 1:12-18:

“Blessed is he who perseveres in temptation, for when he has been proven he will receive the crown of life that he promised to those who love him. No one experiencing temptation should say, “I am being tempted by God”; for God is not subject to temptation to evil,
and he himself tempts no one. Rather, each person is tempted when lured and enticed by his desire. Then desire conceives and brings forth sin, and when sin reaches maturity it gives birth to death.”

And at first when I started reading this, I was not too excited to read it because it was about sin and temptation which are big weaknesses of mine. But I found the passage helpful. This is what I got out of the passage, “No one experiencing temptation should say, “I am being tempted by God”, for God is not subject to temptation to evil, and he himself tempts no one. Rather, each person is tempted when he is lured and enticed by his own desires.” No matter what I say, God is never to blame. He doesn’t take away, he doesn’t tempt me to sin or anything. He encourages us to do good. Everything that is good in life, comes from God, and everything that is bad ( sin, temptation, death, etc. ) comes from satan. We are all made by The Lord, we deserve happiness and joy. Yes, we may fall sometimes, but God still loves us so so much.” When I reread what I wrote this passage comes to mind “He said, “Naked I came from my mother’s womb, And naked I shall return there. The LORD gave and the LORD has taken away. Blessed be the name of the LORD.” – Job 1:21 Because lately a lot has been taken away from me, friends, family, things that are important to me. But knowing that The Lord has a plan in all of it is really refreshing.

After or more during our Bible Study, there was a wedding about to happen. It was so cute seeing the groomsmen and guessing which one was the groom. Seeing the photographer and all his gear. Seeing the guests pour in the church and then finagling seeing the bridesmaids, flower girls and the bride with her father. It made me think of the future of the wedding I had already planned on Pinterest. LOL

I’m not sure what the point in this blog was. Maybe it was to write my thoughts on the passages. Maybe it was to get me thinking more, I’m not sure. But I want to challenge you to get with a friend or a few friends and have a Bible Study session. Pick a few bible passages and go through them and see how they make everyone think. My prayer for you is that you able to do this and grow in your faith and know that we have a forgiving God, a loving God, and a good God. You are doing great! You are loved! You are good enough! You are the best you, you can be!! God Bless!!

 

picmonkey_image 2IMG_7327change

Leave a Reply

