Nervous for Lent 2016

So Lent starts this coming Wednesday and to be honest, this year is a little scary. I have been thinking and praying really hard about what I should give up and what would be a real sacrifice for me. I couldn’t think of anything but 1 thing kept popping in my head that terrified me.

First lets begin with what Lent is. When I googled the word Lent, this came up; “Lent: /noun/ the period preceding Easter that in the Christian Church is devoted to fasting, abstinence, and penitence in commemoration of Christ’s fasting in the wilderness. In the Western Church it runs from Ash Wednesday to Holy Saturday and so includes forty weekdays.” Which is right! As Catholics we take the 40 day time period to fast and make a sacrifice. We also pray and do almsgiving. Almsgiving is giving to the poor, whether it’s time, money, prayer, or food.

In the past I have given up the standard things, chocolate, soda, etc. But this year I felt called to do more. To give up something I use every day, something that would be super hard and that I could offer up. Something that I had given up before but either cheated or didn’t really care all that much. I decided to give up social media. Facebook, Twitter, Instagram,etc. I will still be blogging, but I won’t be posting it on any social media.

I go on social media everyday, multiple times again. With not having my day filled with social media and seeing how many likes I get on a picture or finding a really great quote for my status, I also decided to take on something during Lent. I decided to journal to God everyday ( I did it last year and found it very fruitful ), and to take at least 1 Holy Hour a week. To relax in the middle or at the end or the week, to thank God for whatever week I’d have. To ask for help in situations and just to praise Him.

A lot of people I know, give up easy stuff like things they won’t miss or something they don’t do everyday. It’s not a big sacrifice. And that’s the whole point in Lent. To give up something as a sacrifice! Because Jesus sacrificed His life for you, it’s showing you just a very little bit of what He went through.

Every year I’m usually pretty excited for Lent! But this year I’m actually pretty nervous about this one. And I know why. It’s because I’m giving up 4 things and it’s putting me out of my comfort zone. I will be anxious and wanting and being tempted this Lent and I’m gonna have to power through it. I’m not going to be comfortable.

And this is where I challenge you! Whether you are Catholic or not you can give up something for 40 days. Give up something that you use often. Give up coffee, social media, alcohol, cigarettes, music, something that will be hard for you. As you give up these things, pray more. When you want to listen to music, pray “God give me the strength to persevere through this temptation and through this Lent” I pray that you have a great Lent, I pray that you grow closer to Christ and see a deeper meaning of sacrifice. You are doing a wonderful job! You are loved! You are good enough! You are the best you, you can be!! God Bless!!

 

lent2014lent-wordcloud_22014-Lent-Cross

Leave a Reply

