Down In Adoration

Tonight, for middle school youth group, we had the opportunity to take the night a little seriously and worship our Lord. I always enjoy Adoration nights because there isn’t a lot of set up, the kids seem to enjoy it a lot ( or at least most of them ), and it’s a time to take a little down time from the chaos that usually happens at youth group and worship The Lord.

I have had the opportunity to take on the responsibility to set up the altar for Adoration. Getting the altar down, getting the altar cloths and placing them correctly on the altar, getting the corporal ( Definition: A square white linen cloth, now usually somewhat smaller than the breadth of an altar, upon which the Sacred Host and chalice are placed during the celebration of Mass) and placing it correctly on the altar, then placing the monstrance ( Definition: A receptacle in which the host is held and displayed. ) in the correct spot. I’ve come to really enjoy doing that. It’s something different then setting up tables for GaGa Ball ( a game that should be played at every event known to man ), and setting up the table for sign ins. I feel like I’m contributing to the night.

Middle School youth group starts, we have rice and beans for dinner. People are playing Gaga, people are talking and some are playing Heads Up. The music is going, everything is great. We get everyone to the front of the room to start the night. We start off with 2 games, then we have a witness from a young adult, then we teach the kids a few songs they haven’t heard. As father Jack walks in, that’s when the magic happens.

As we hear the bells meaning that Jesus is coming into the room, Kevin and Jake start playing a song called When You Walk Into A Room ( click on the title to go to the song on Youtube ) and it is so beautiful. The kids are singing louder than usual. They are all attentive. But the song strikes me. “We love you. We can’t stop loving You. We can’t live without You” This had been the second day in a row I had been in Eucharistic Adoration and both times I felt peace and felt like I was actually singing to God. I looked out into the sea of middle schoolers, none of them were on their phones, they were all looking up at the Lord, singing or in their own form of pray. You could tell it was different then any other night, you could tell hearts were moving.

One thing I noticed was that they were singing. All of them, louder then normal. One girl in particular I heard and she had such a beautiful voice and she was singing loud! It made my heart melt. I saw a boy that is usually on his phone and can be frustrating some times, but I saw him actually in pray and singing and participating. It made me think of early today when at 3, I prayed a Divine Mercy Chaplet for Jake and the night. I prayed for this boy in particular, that his heart would turn to the Lord and that hearts would be changed. And it happened!!

I’ve said it once, and I’ll say it 100 times over again, middle schoolers, particularly the ones that I work with, change my heart every time I’m in adoration with them. I see the pure innocence, I see the genuine faith they have, I see the child-like faith. The faith that God wants us to have, “And calling to him a child, he put him in the midst of them, and said, ‘Truly, I say to you, unless you turn and become like children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. Whoever humbles himself like this child, he is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.” ( Matthew 18:2-4 ) They teach me how to be genuine, childlike, spontaneous, chaotic, and everything in between. They teach me how to be real.

Hearing them sing to our Lord, made my heart happy, but I know it made our Lord even happier seeing and hearing over 100 middle schoolers and maybe 20 adults, worshipping Him and singing to Him. I know He beamed down on us all and smiled with delight.

This week I challenge you to go to adoration. Doesn’t have to be for this ginormous amount of time. Could be for 10 minutes, 30 minutes, could even be for an hour. Just tell God about your day. Tell Him about your week. Maybe in your head, sing Him a song. Read a book with Him. Write with Him. I know any amount of time you spend with Him, He will love you and sit with you. Think of it as a date with your Father. I know as a little girl, I loved going on daddy/daughter dates. Think of it like that. He loves it and He loves you. I pray that you are having a fruitful Lent. We are almost finished with Lent and I pray that you are growing closer to the Lord each and every day!! You are loved! You are doing a fabulous job! You are enough! You are the best you, you can be! God Bless!!

 

IMG_5464IMG_5481IMG_5472

Leave a Reply

