When I’m not okay, is God mad?

When you are face to face with a struggle in life that seems to knock the wind out of you, you might hear people say to you:

You can do it!
Be strong!
Hold on tight!
Don’t let go!
You are going to make it!

What if I said, you don’t have to be strong?

Many times people grow up thinking they need to muster up more strength to press on. We are told to dry our tears, pull up our boot straps and move beyond the heartache of the moment.

I hear God gently telling me to let go of the boot straps, let the tears flow and not move a muscle.

If you are feeling crushed beneath the weight of life, don’t misinterpret God’s instruction for what man has made it sound like. Listen for yourself in God’s voice.
Lately God has been telling me to:

1. Seek Him
2. Trust Him
3. Sit with Him

He has never told me to rely on my own strength or to get a grip and get over it.
There are lots of things I could do when times get tough. I could plan and prepare and go into survival mode. I could try to avoid another disaster before it happens or freeze in fear of what might come to pass tomorrow.

God is constantly reminding me that I don’t control my own destiny – He does.

If you’ve been feeling like you need to be strong, but you don’t have the strength, it’s going to be okay. You don’t need to develop more strength, you need to trust God to display His.

“He gives power to the faint, and to him who has no might he increases strength.”- Isaiah 40:29(RSV)

I love how Paul puts it when speaking about his thorn in the flesh:
“Three times I besought the Lord about this, that it should leave me; but he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” I will all the more gladly boast of my weaknesses, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities; for when I am weak, then I am strong.” -2 Corinthians 12:8-10(RSV)

In Paul’s weakness God’s strength is revealed. If Paul tried to figure things out himself and leaned on his own ability, he would have forfeited the opportunity to experience the power of God’s strength.

I don’t want to give up something that is miraculously and freely offered to me. God’s power is beyond anything I can imagine, yet the amazing part is that I can personally posses it for myself.

If you have never allowed God to take control and be the strength of your life, I promise you will be overwhelmed when you hand over your control to His. His display of strength is beyond anything you will ever experience.

If you are feeling weak, you are not alone! We all have moments in life that are too heavy to handle in our own strength. What in your life has caused you to feel weak, alone or afraid? If you share your story with me, I will pray for you. Today, there’s one thing you don’t have to do – You don’t have to be strong.

As I was writing this I realized that I need to do the same. I need to trust in the Lord more and know that my strength comes from Him. When I am persecuted at work, when I’m having a bad day, when I feel like I can’t go on. Just rely on Him!

You are doing great! You are loved! You are the best you, you can be! You are good enough! You are strong! You are awesome!!

God Bless!!

 

jesus-with-young-child-1127677-galleryjesus-with-a-child-medium

IMG_3752IMG_374922704_1066540850039782_7146265575392447900_n

Leave a Reply

