The 4 worsts things I’ll ever hear

I will hear a lot of horrible things throughout my life. I don’t know what they are yet. Some of the worst I’ve already heard was how fat I am, how I should go kill myself, and that my birth father wants absolutely nothing to do with me. I’m sure in my life, I will hear even worse.

As a lot of you know, in August, my grandfather passed away and it really rocked my world. I heard that military funerals were tough. All the sights and sounds were going to be a lot. I thought that they were being over dramatic. They are adults…aren’t they suppose to be melodramatic about everything? It was one of the worst days of my life and I heard the 4 of the worst phrases and sounds.

1.“I’m sorry for your loss”

I hate that phrase. I hate the pity it comes with. I hate the reminder that my loved one has passed. I hate the emotion that comes with it.

2. The Bugle

That stupid Bugle that plays “Taps”. It is a feel that I can’t describe. It’s one of those things where you are just going to have to live to be able to comprehend.

3.  21 Gun Salute

The second worst thing. First of all, it’s loud and you don’t expect the first shot so it scares you. Second, it’s just a reminder they are gone for good. The 21 gun salute and the Bugle playing “Taps” are a good close second to the worst thing.

4. “On behalf of the President of the United States…”

By far the WORST thing ever. When the man comes to the loved ones, hands the folded American Flag and says “On behalf of the President of the United States and United States Marine Corps ( or another military branch ) please accept this flag as a symbol of our appreciation of your loved ones honorable and faithful service.” I had to hear it four times that day. And the flag is hanging up as a reminder that he is gone and that he served our country.

Those are by far the worst things I will ever hear as a human being. I never thought I would have had to hear them but it has brought a lot of perspective to my life.

 

IMG_1989IMG_1981

Leave a Reply

